Tom Hanks, 63, will receive the Cecil B. DeMille honor for his career that has made a historical impact in the film industry. Over the years, Hanks has accomplished a list of awards including two Academy Awards, seven Primetime Emmys, four Golden Globes, and two Screen Actors Guild Awards.

The announcement was made on Tuesday by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association in a tweet. “The HFPA is proud to announce @tomhanks will receive the Cecil B. DeMille Award at the 77th #GoldenGlobes on January 5, 2020!

Perhaps Hanks fans are expecting even more awards in his latest title role The Fred Rogers biopic A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood to be released in November.

HFPA president Lorenzo Soria mentioned in a press release. “For more than three decades, he’s captivated audiences with rich and playful characters that we’ve grown to love and admire. As compelling as he is on the silver screen, he’s equally so behind the camera as a writer, producer, and director.”

Previous recipients include Oprah Winfrey, Meryl Streep, George Clooney, Robert De Niro, Martin Scorsese, and Steven Spielberg. Individuals awarded have made a lasting impact on the film industry.

Congratulations Tom Hanks!


By: Leslie Vasquez

Photo Credit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>